August 29, 2011

CONGRATULATIONS to The James-Lange Theory!

The ULTIMATE Band of 2011

CONGRATULATIONS to The James-Lange Theory, the winners of this year's ULTIMATE BAND showcase at The RITZ Ybor. The James-Lange Theory won over On Carlton Row (runner-up), The Reverie, The Ken Apperson Band, Next of Kin and Khora for the title and are the recipients of the Grand Prize:
  1. $500.00 cash & a $100.00 gas card courtesy of The Radiant Group
  2. studio recording time courtesy of Atomic Audio, Inc.
  3. a paid gig at COSMOPOLITAN, Square One's annual fall event on Saturday, November 19, 2011 at The RITZ Ybor
  4. a paid gig at Live Music Series at Hyde Park Village
  5. the opportunity to open for an upcoming national touring act at The RITZ Ybor
Each band had to perform the cover song performed at the Semi-Finals the week they won, two original songs and 1 cover song by Michael Jackson. Below are photos of the bands along with captions of what songs they performed by The King of Pop.

The James-Lange Theory
Semi-Finals cover: "Toxic" & "Baby One More Time" by Britney Spears
Finals cover: medley of "I Want You Back" by The Jackson 5 & "Black or White" by Michael Jackson

On Carlton Row
Semi-Finals cover: "Suspicious Minds" by Elvis Presley
Finals Cover: "Billie Jean" by Michael Jackson

Next of Kin
Semi-Finals cover: "Oops! I Did It Again" by Britney Spears

Finals cover: "Bad" by Michael Jackson

Semi-Finals cover: "Always Be My Baby" by Mariah Carey
Finals cover: "Man In The Mirror" by Michael Jackson

The Ken Apperson Band
Semi-Finals cover: "Fantasy" by Mariah Carey
Finals cover: "P.Y.T. (Pretty Young Thing)" by Michael Jackson

The Reverie
Semi-Finals cover: "Fat-Bottomed Girls" by Queen
Finals cover: "Dirty Diana" by Michael Jackson

Mighty Mongo
last year's winners of The ULTIMATE Band 2010

The James-Lange Theory
with some of this year's Judges Panel
Teacup (GaYBOR), Dinah Powers (The Cowhead Show, 102.5 The Bone)
Lauren (The Kage Kult Show, 98 Rock), Carole Liparoto (tbt)
Jocelyn Brenner (Hyde Park Village Live Music Series)
Dallas Nielsen (returning judge), Jeremy Gloff (tbt Top Music Artist of 2011)
Brandon Thompson (Metromix)

CONGRATULATIONS to all of the bands for a successful night for live music in Tampa & thank you to all of our judges!

Check out more photos from The ULTIMATE BAND 2011 by clicking here.

No comments:

Post a Comment